• Former village girl and the Flag Crusher Prince Chapter 10

     

    Former village girl and the Flag Crusher Prince

    Chapter 10 Instant kill: a battle won in an instant

    "My daughter... my daughter has been kidnapped."

    The man His Highness had brought with him introduced himself as Mister Conda.
    He was a young man in his mid-twenties.

    While treating Mister Conda deep wounds with some medicinal herbs we had gathered nearby, His Highness and I listened to his story.

    "A terrific monster and... a large number of goblins suddenly appeared in the village, kidnapped the women and children of the village, and fled to this mountain.
    My daughter was among the children kidnapped...
    Goblins eat children....
    It's only a matter of time before she is eaten too.
    That's why I decided to go up to this mountain to try to save them... "

    Even so, he was nearly killed by a common bear before reaching their location, and His Highness found him.


    "It's a good thing I noticed the screams, he would have died if I hadn't."

    His Highness Lotus gave the medicinal herb a few light rubs between her hands and then applied it to Mister Conda's back wound.

    Mister Conda's face contorted because of the herb effects, which was both haemostatic and bactericidal.

     

    "I know! I know! I'm just common man, who's not strong nor skilled in battle but… It was the only thing I could do! What else do you think I can do now!"

     

    "Please! You need to calm down, Mister Conda."

    His Highness was focused on thinking about the actual situation and Mister Conda's words, whose excitements didn't let him rest a minute.

    I tried to speak with him.

     

    "If one village is damaged by natural disasters or attacked, it's the Lord's duty to provide soldiers to help, they are probably moving right now.  If there are other children kidnapped besides Mr. Conda's daughter, they'll send a team of adventurers to the mountains to save them right away..."

    "Haha. You don't understand anything. Ashhh... Really a noblewoman."

     

    Mr. Conda lowered his eyes and his laugh was filled with sorrow and some anger.

     

    "If the guards had come, Don't you think they would be here instead of me? 

    You think that a farming village that can barely make it through the winter and can't even pay its taxes properly will be heard when plead for help?

    The Lord of this territory will send soldiers in their rescue?"

     

    The tone of his sarcastic voice gave me chills, the mixed feelings on his voice told me it wasn't a lie at all. 

    With a tearful look on his face, he continued.

     

    "...ten days ago, a similar thing happened in the village next to our. 

    Even before that, the damage caused by monsters that live on this mountain was already notorious and well known in all the territory, since it has increased in the last years. 

    And yet, instead of listening to our cries for help, that Lord only raised taxes, saying,  - You guys have to make me up for the loss villages! - 

    What do you expect from a guy like that!"

     

    I couldn't say anything to him as he spilled tears of anger and looking at His Highness as if to find some answer, I could only see his grim expression when listened to Mr. Conda's complete story.

     

    "... Mister Conda. You've run forward here alone, to save your daughter before they eat her, but do you really know where the goblins' stronghold is?"

     

    His Highness Lotus asked quietly, and Mr. Conda wiped his tears with his arm before answering.

     

    "Yes, of course I know! All the persons living near here have been looking for a self-defense solution against these monsters, for a quite long time. And, as other monsters are rarely seen around here, we found out soon enough where they were hiding."

     

    Mr. Conda pointed to the path, that seemed to be done by the savage beasts living around here, the one His Highness entered earlier, and began to explain.

     

    "Going straight down that dark road, turning right after seeing a large black tree. 

    From there, going up to the top of the mountain, there is where the monsters are based. 

    It seems like... Another kind of creatures, stronger than goblins, are living there, and we think that because of the buildings complex structure. 

    No doubt, the monster that built it is cleverer than goblins."

     

    His Highness muttered, "I see," and turned his face forward me.

     

    "Azalea. Please, accompany Mister Conda back to the village and then return to the castle with Kuro."

     

    "... What do you intend to do, His Highness?"

     

    "I'm going to rescue Mister Conda's daughter, who was kidnapped."

     

    At His Highness' words, Mister Conda's face become bright with hope for a moment, but he immediately shook his head with sorrow again.

     

    "No. I know you're strong, as I saw when you defeated that bear moments ago, but it's not enough to confront those creatures.

    And I can't let a kid go by himself! It's my daughter who has been kidnapped. 

    I'm her parent! I'm the one who has to risk his life to save her, it isn't your duty. 

    Even if I know I cannot stop you, if you decide to go, at least let me go with you."

     

    After Mister Conda's statement, I also spoke to His Highness.

     

    "I, too, know that His Highness is strong. 

    But, even if controlling the Lords behavior are Their Majesties's resposability, and he isn't doing job properly, it has nothing to do with risking His Highness' life to repay the villagers.

    And if it's your duty, it's mine too, so I'll go with you."

     

    No matter how strong His Highness Lotus is, it's dangerous to attack a goblins' base alone.

    Even though Master Creek, Hermet, and even Their Majesties called him 'out of the ordinary', 'something that escapes common sense', and 'a natural disaster', 

    His Highness Lotus is still a twelve-year-old child. 

     

    Even if telling him to not worry in a situation like this is unreasonable, there's no way we can let him do something so reckless.

    To our claims, His Highness gave a surprising answer.

     

    "If you want to go, I don't mind if you follow me, but..."

     

    His Highness Lotus lowered his eyebrows slightly and said with very serious gaze.

     

    "You'll return home after it's over and it'll be over soon, ok?"

     

    ♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

     

    "We've reached the monsters' stronghold."

     

    His Highness said, after confirming through a magic spell that all the persons kidnapped were trapped in the basement of the building.

    He told us that he'll defeat the monsters with magic and saying some strange words, His Highness moved his hand and the castle-like building was ripped from the ground and threw into the sky, as if it was made of paper, there it exploded dissolving into nothingness. 

    The remnants monsters that were seeing the scene, from the entrance of a corridor sub terrain, hurriedly came out of the basement decided to kill us, but Kuro ate them without leaving any trace of them, and it was over.

     

    Since the beginning to the end of the fight, it was only five minutes.

    Right now, His Highness, after having descended to the basement, was in the process of freeing the people who were being held captive underground. 

    Apparently, the padlocks and shackles were crafted by magic, and if you don't release them properly, they will explode killing the persons trapped by them. 

    As it was the easiest task in the world, His Highness instantly understood how to deactivate those and ordered me and Mister Conda to stay behind him because it was dangerous.

     

    With nothing, we can do to help him, I and Mister Conda watched silently as His Highness worked on breaking the magic locks like he were completing a puzzle, to not disturb him.

     

    "Miss Azalea, is there anything we can do to help him?"

     

    "I don't want to move around too much, Mr. Conda. There is still the possibility of more magic traps here and there, we can end up causing more damage than help?"

     

    "All right, I understood. It was a good thing, everything was so fast, it isn't night yet. With so much dust around here and without light it would have been more complicated, but after seeing how His Highness managed the situation, I'm sure he probably would cast a spell and make fireworks or something, to illuminate the place so bright as daylight."

     

    "Humph. Yes, but it wasn't bad at all. Take a look, even Kuro is playing with the kids there to keep them calm and make them lost the fear."

     

    "Wow, it's true. I thought The Holy Dragon's mouth would be bloody, but it's clean. Thanks goodness... My daughter is there safe... she's playing there too."

     

    Kuro seems to be in a good mood after filling her stomach and... 

    she's making the children play with the white bones of the goblins she ate?!!

     

    "Ahahaha. Well, it doesn't matter right? Ahhh.... it's so peaceful now... you probably wouldn't believe it if you weren't seeing it by yourself"

     

    "Mm-hmm. I guess so."

     

    Both I and Mister Conda, laughed but while he was truly happy after seeing his daughter safe, I was too but a part of me was sad. 

    I can't do anything but laugh, after all I couldn't help him at all...

    It really did end so fast, but I cannot feel at ease because don't know what was going on with that exchange earlier with His Highness, what did he mean?

    I know, he is something... 

    Facing a goblins' stronghold alone would normally feel like a walk on the park? 

    Also, I was the one who asked for coming with him, but thinking on it now... there was a chance that because I can't fight very well, would have ended being a load and causing troubles for him, right?

    Still, I couldn't imagine that it would end so quickly, could it? 

     

    It took me more time to walk the corridor and enter the basement than what it took him to wipe out all the monsters. 

    Aren't you too strong, His Highness Lotus?

     

    As I let out a laugh to hide my own embarrassment, His Highness finished freeing the last person. 

    As he let us know the news, Mr. Conda and I rushed over to him.

     

    "Thank you very much, Your Highness Lotus. We'll never forget the debt we have with you."

     

    Mr. Conda kneeled and bowed his head in front of His Highness, until his face was touching the ground. 

    Also, he was very sorry because even after His Highness Lotus told him who he was when saving Mister Conda from the bear's attack.

    Mister Conda didn't believe it, a prince in the countryside... fighting a bear to save a poor villager that couldn't even afford to pay an adventurer to help him in his quest?

    After witnessing the conquest of the demon stronghold, he got down on his knees and said. 

     

    "Please spare my life, His Majesty Lord Lotus"

     

    Not daring to raise his eyes and make eye contact with him. 

     

    He really has good luck to come across His Highness, one of those scarce nobles that's not an asshole.

    "Good, good, good. Don't worry"

     

    He's still a little pale right now, but it's understandable...

     

    I took a look at the villagers who were being held captive. 

    Everyone was tired after being in a situation like that for too long, but there didn't seem to have any major injuries or be deeply wounded.

     

    The children were energetic enough to play with Kuro, so it was possible to descend the mountain with everybody riding on her back, but that wasn't a good idea.

    Even though the stronghold was wiped out, there was still a chance that the beast who was leading them in their attack to the village, can appear along the way.

     

    So, rather than suggesting driving them to the village, it would be quicker using magic circles to tele transport them.

    As I was trying to remember how to activate one and about the class where the professor talked over them, a circle started shining under His Highness's feet, and he gave me an answer that let me impressed.

     

    "Don't worry. It's the art of meta-transportation, I'm very good at it"

     

    "Meta-transportation?... Wait! Your Highness, where do you think you're going?"

     

    "Hmmm..."

     

    He glanced at Mr. Conda and the others, then said to me.

     

    "Azalea. Drive them back to the village, and after that ride on Kuro and return to the Castle. I'll catch up with you later. I have still one more task to do, I'm going to finish it before going home."

     

    "A job, you mean... "

    Does it mean to go to talk with the lord of this land - earl Jeter? 

     

    His Highness seemed really angry when he was listening to Mr. Conda story about the earl's behavior in front of the attacks to the villages.

     

    "What are you saying? I'll go with you! I can't just leave His Highness and go home by myself. In the first place, Kuro won't allow me to ride on her back if you're not present."

     

    "Don't worry about that. She is very smart and can easily guide you to the Castle. Azalea, please. Do me a favor and listen to what I say now."

     

    "But... "

     

    I couldn't help but choke on my words at the sight of His Highness serious gaze.

    ... His Highness Lotus, it's not just because he's cute! 

     

    He is asking me to go alone without telling why, even so, I know he got a reason.... but, why is he hiding it from me?

    Or is it because we can't talk about it here? 

    For example, we can't let the villagers hear it.....

     

    "... Thank you very much for everything. Your Highness Lotus, please take care."

     

    When I agreed, His Highness apologized.

    "I'm sorry" 

     

    Saying some word, he activated the transference magic circle and disappeared wrapped on a dazzling light in an instant.

    I muttered to him something that no one would hear, what I wanted to say to him for everything he has done for me since we met.

     

    "Thank you."

     

    The truth is, I want you to rely on me more. 

    However, I'm a helpless little girl now, so His Highness Lotus' decision is right.

     

    He could have confronted earl Jeter, persuaded him, fight him or done anything else without the little help I can provide him.

    As incompetent as I am, it's better not to be also a hindrance.

     

    I should have learned it already, with the experiences of my previous life.

     

    .... So let's just think about what I've been asked to do first. 

    That way, for sure, I won't cause more troubles for anyone.

     

    I took one deep breath, then called out to Mister Conda

     

    "Let's go down the mountain."

     



    TRANSLATED BY http://novelsetromans.eklablog.com

    YOU CAN FIND MORE CHAPTERS ON PATREON

     

    THERE ARE SOME WEBSITES THAT HAVE BEEN USING BOTS TO COPY THE TEXT AND PUBLISHING IT IN THEIR PAGES, SOME OF THOSE SITES ADD A REFERENCE THAT THEY TOOK THE TEXT FROM MY BLOG BUT SOME OTHERS PUBLISH IT AS THEIR OWN TRANSLATION.

    I ONLY UPLOAD THE TRANSLATIONS IN THIS BLOG, NOVELS UPDATE, BAKA-TSUKI PROJECT, PATREON, SUBSCRIBESTAR AND LETORTMO (this last one only for translations to Spanish)

    Sorry for the trouble to everyone.

     



    Previous Chapter   List of Chapters   Next Chapter
    Yahoo! Blogmarks

    Tags Tags: ,
  • Comments

    1
    Kawaii Kurun
    Wednesday 16th September 2020 at 08:45
    Common trope here haha.
    Basically this chapter is, Lotus is the op mc that got a kidnapping side event/quest and Azalea is that gal that got dragged along...
    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: