• The Banished Villainess Chapter 04

     

    The Banished Villainess! Living the Leisurely Life of a Nun Making Revolutionary Church Food

    Chapter 04: In my previous life I was an event planner

    ********
    Elizabeth's memory of working in a country called Japan.
    The memories of Yuka Sawatani.
    ********

    My office was a small room in an old building.
    But no, it wasn't one of those stylish buildings you think about when hearing Japan country name.
    It was one of the myriad of buildings in the so-called Tokyo area, cramped, old, and slightly tilted.
    Nine desks, a locker and photocopier, and nothing more.

    My desk was always covered in papers. You tidy it up, and do it again... and again, and the next time you don't because you have no time for that.
    Fliers, documents, pamphlets, you had nowhere to look, your vision is covered completely by them.
    However, at the time when I started I didn't think it was something important.

     

    >>As long as you have the enthusiasm, it doesn't matter where you have to work if you like what you do, it's a good job<<

    Elizabeth was a twenty-four-year-old event planner named Sawatani Yuka... these were the memories of her previous life.

    Black hair pulled back on a ponytail, her white shirt and black suit.
    "I have to work hard today....." Every day I putted all my energy into it.
    I got into the crowded train that will take me to my work.

    There were so many similar people in that small space that I felt like I wasn't alone.
    "Good morning."

    She opened the door with the name "Fun Dreams Inc." printed on and greeted them cheerfully.

    A few people inside the company's room, already working replied with no strength at all.
    Some people only raised their hands.
    Apparently, they had come first, or rather, had worked all night.

    Normally, I would have talked with them out of concern for my seniors, who were really busy with work, but I didn't have time to do that.

    Because I was very busy myself...

    --First of all, I'm going check and clean up my mail.

    I sat in my seat, turned on my computer and opened my mail, dozens of e-mails to check and reply visible on the screen.
    I wonder if it's just me or why I was feeling a shiver down my spine just looking at it.

    --There's no point in looking at it. We have to stand up to them!

    Exerting myself, I read and process the information coming from the emails in my inbox.

    Ordering materials, arranging advertisements, securing part-time workers for the events, applying for permits from the local government, and dealing with all the troubles that come up every day.

    Because of the "process" (pseudo-slavery) of internship system, I was forced to help out in many ways even before joined the company, so by the time the company officially hired me, I was able to do everything by myself.
    Well, at the very least, I accumulated a great deal of experience. But, I was so tired, I would like to have a little more time off.

    Otome games, which I usually played to relax myself before going to bed, were the only hobby I could enjoy with the little time I had after work.

    I chose this event company when I started working, hoping to be involved in an event for an otome game someday.

    >>Someday I'll plan my own project, but in order to do so, I have to clear out the work that's piled high in front of me right now.<<
    The walls of notes with tasks to do ... they're enormous, and they're piling up every day.

    "Yes! Fun Dreams Inc at your service."

    Tomoka, who had been concentrating on replying to the e-mail too, hurriedly picked up the phone call that had come in.

    "It's one of your clients"

    "Ahh, Thank you so much"

    "Hello. Yes. What? The space rented for the event is not enough? Ahh, I'm sorry. I'll be there shortly."

    Lately, I've been afraid of the phone ringing.
    Mostly because it's a sign of trouble.

    Dream Fun Inc. has a wide range of business activities.
    We handle not only exhibitions, product launches, hands-on events and parties, but also big things like live performances for new music groups and sport events.
    However, we are only a few employees working here, so trouble was bound to happen.

    Today, as usual, I got a complaint call from a client and went straight to the site.
    It's faster to go in person and deal with it than to talk about it over the phone.

    "I'm going out! I won't be back soon, maybe after 7pm."

    * Poof *
    I changed from my indoor slippers to high heels that I keep under my desk and walked out of the office.

    Transportation was not by foot or horse-drawn carriage like in this new world, but by train, taxi, or plane, sadly but the place rented for that event was far away.
    Going there would take several hours, so even if the problem is resolved fast, the return would only be possible in the evening or at night.
    When we stepped outside the building, it was blindingly sunny.
    As I turned around, I saw the small sign for <<Fun Dreams Inc.>>

    ~~ From an important presentation to a happy birthday party ~~
    "Fun Dreams Inc."

    Happy... birthday party...

    The task of making customers smile... I didn't that thought crossed the mind of anybody working on the company... at least, lately.
    Also, most of our work was for big companies' events, there were very little work for individuals parties or celebrations.

    Either because they learned of this cruel reality or because they couldn't stand the rigors of the job anymore.
    ... It was probably the second option mostly, but Yuka's peers have been quitting the company one after another.
    There was no sign of new employees wanting to come in either.

    It was challenging, and I worked hard, but a company with only nine employees working nearly 24 hours was still a black hole.
    I managed to finish the day's work and was on my way home in the middle of the night.

    No matter how late it was, Yuka would take a bubbles bath with hot water to get rid of her fatigue.

    I mumbled to myself as I buried my body in the bathtub filled with hot water.
    Taking a bath, even if it's a temporary relax, was a great way to get ready for tomorrow because released the fatigue of your body and cleared your mind.
    Bubbles of soap in the overflowing hot water was one of the few luxuries she had.

    "Whew...well, let's do it."

    Once his body was soaked up to his neck, she sat up on the bathtub and reached out to something over the bath mat over a chair near her.
    There, a rectangular game console in a waterproof plastic case.

    It's a clear plastic bag with strings, like you often see for smartphones, and it allows you to play in the bath if you don't mind the screen being a little hard to see.

    Otome games were a modest treat she allowed herself to have before she went to sleep.

    "Um, what route did I choose yesterday?"

    Sliding the power bar, the title's screen came up.

    "Princess Life: Confessions of the Dawn"

    It's an otome game's story that Yuka has been immersed in for a long time.

    Called "predawn" for short between his fans, it is a very popular game.
    The setting is the Kingdom of Mowers in the center of the Dacreston continent.
    The main character, Rosetta, is an illegitimate daughter of the King.
    One day it's found out, and she's adopted by the King and went to live in the Royal Palace.

    King Mowers, who has only one son, a prince, becomes very attached to his new daughter.
    The surrounding nations that want to have a relationship with the kingdom of Mowers, starts visiting the palace with the idea of a political marriage, and you have to keep the story moving forward while maintain the balance between the nations... between the friendship with the main characters and the romance.

    Along the way, there are five "routes" for the marriage of the ending that are determined by the conversation and actions of the protagonist, which in turn lead to a marriage with the prince of each country.

    Even though it's an all-ages game, the "signature" of the game is that the final event, is clearly a scene where the chose prince and the protagonist talk about "the Dawn" after the first night.

    "Well, yesterday's choices had a bad ending, right?"

    As she tried to select the saved dataset to resume from the loading screen, Yuka remembered yesterday's progress.

    Apparently, she made the wrong choice and ended up in a state of war with another country due to the interference of the villainous Lady Elizabeth, who is somehow hostile to the protagonist, Rosetta.

    Moreover, when you visit that prince's country, the route becomes impossible to progress, and it is an instant bad ending.

    It's also a feature of this game its high difficulty level, and Yuka had only been able to play two of the five marriage endings.

    My failures are partly because I'm doing it while being very tired before I go to sleep.

    On social media and on her blog, you can usually see her saying that she has completed successfully all the work assigned to her, but it's still going to take some time for Yuka to caught up with all her pilled up work.

    --Someday, I'll plan the event for the pre-dawn game.

    But it's not worth mentioning that I didn't get to see all the marriage endings either.
    However, at that rate I didn't know if that would be even possible someday.

    "I need some more rest.... I want to be able to afford it...."
    "It's piling up again... all the things I have to do in the morning tomorrow...."
    "I mean, it's fulfilling... I'm sure."

    I muttered something to myself to cheer myself up, but I didn't have the strength.
    I had been in this state for so long that I couldn't even lie to myself.

    "Ah!"

    Suddenly remembering her work, Yuka huffed.

    "I didn't put the T-shirts signed by the president in the souvenir set... first thing tomorrow morning, how many people...? Uhmm Uhmm."

    Without even choosing the route to load, Yuka put the game console back on the bath mat.

    "More things that need to be done tomorrow will pile up."

    --I wonder what time I'll have to get up tomorrow.

    This time, she buried her whole body in the hot water, muttering in her mind.

    I hope everything else is okay... I've to write the warning text for the ban for the filming and recording in the session of tomorrow, and then...

    Oh! There's one thing that makes me uneasy when I think of it.... What if...

    I think about this and that to see if there's anything else missing.
    After shaking my head, sank my face in the warm water.
    My body was feeling heavy and I couldn't help it.

    --Huh? It's just... when did it turn out like this...

    The bathtub was small and supposed to be shallow, but Yuka was feeling her whole body sinking, even her head while she was holding her knees.

    Towards the bottom ...

    --I don't know, this....

    Gradually, her eyelids became heavier and consciousness faded, but it didn't hurt, it wasn't painful, and it felt good.
    Consciousness couldn't resist, or maybe knowing it now, I shouldn't have given myself over to this feeling.

    --I'm tired... maybe I've passed out.

    The air bubbles from my mouth were rising to the surface of the water.
    That was the last thing I remembered of when I was Yuka Sawatani.
    And that was probably the end of that past life.

     



    TRANSLATED BY http://novelsetromans.eklablog.com

    YOU CAN FIND MORE CHAPTERS ON PATREON

     

    THERE ARE SOME WEBSITES THAT HAVE BEEN USING BOTS TO COPY THE TEXT AND PUBLISHING IT IN THEIR PAGES, SOME OF THOSE SITES ADD A REFERENCE THAT THEY TOOK THE TEXT FROM MY BLOG BUT SOME OTHERS PUBLISH IT AS THEIR OWN TRANSLATION.

    I ONLY UPLOAD THE TRANSLATIONS IN THIS BLOG, NOVELS UPDATE, BAKA-TSUKI PROJECT, PATREON, SUBSCRIBESTAR AND LETORTMO (this last one only for translations to Spanish)

    Sorry for the trouble to everyone.

     


    Previous Chapter   List of Chapters   Next Chapter
    Yahoo! Blogmarks

    Tags Tags: , ,
  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: