• I'm a White Pig Nobleman Chapter 07

    I'm a White Pig Nobleman, but with the memories of my previous life, I'll raise my little brother

    Chapter 07: Don't be afraid to roll up your sleeves if you've to work

    It was a clear, sunny morning, a perfect day to work on the garden.
    The early summer first sunshine illuminated many beautiful flowers blooming, after looking a while to the beautiful landscape in front of me, I went for a walk after finishing my work in the vegetable garden.

    As I walked singing a song to cheer me up in my daily training, a little bird came by, later a fox and a raccoon appeared out of nowhere and started wandering near me.

    Kikunoi estate is actually quite a rural area, uhm? It's said you need 10 days of traveling in a horse-drawn carriage to reach it, from the Imperial Capital.

    The main industry is agriculture, which is almost a local production for local consumption.
    The next most popular group is... Adventurers.

    Maybe it's a little strange to say that an industry is adventurers, but apparently the only way to make a living outside of farming is to defeat monsters in the forest or in dungeons in the mountains.
    This world's life is hard.


    But in the Kikunoi estate's dungeons, there is a very rare monster, that yields a more rare metal: "hyacinth". Even if you don't capture it, you still can get magical stones, monster skins, flesh, bones, and other precious materials that are a necessity of daily life in this country.

    According to some people, making a fortune is not a dream here.
    That's why there are so many aspiring adventurers in Kikunoi.

    So, if the city is enriched by these adventurers, it's a different kind of... Industry.
    Why? Kikunoi's estate isn't a modern city, it doesn't have entertainment centers nor anything alike but the taxes are heavier than in other countryside areas.

    Thanks to the riches of the dungeons, it's not so much of a dead end for its people, but it's not like the adventurers' guild or the inn are making a big profit neither...

    While I was thinking about this, I arrived at the end of the garden, the meeting place.
    The wild roses had disappeared, and elegant peonies were swaying in the wind, letting their fragrance drift in the wind.

    "At last you're here, you insolent little boy, keeping me wait for a simple poet all this long."

    "I'm sorry, My Lady."

    "Hmph, you went there to see the first spring morning's sunshine and all the flowers that bloom with it, didn't you? That was the morning spirit who came to greet this Divine Lady at the beginning of the blooming season."

    The princess said it with a triumphant expression, the old me thinks the phrase that fits better is with a prideful smirk on her face.

    "Come on! Come on, sing. But sing a praise to this God first."

    "Yes! Let's see..."

    It's the "Praise to the Holy Queen" song, the story talks of a woman who used to be a singer in a tavern but was chased by bad guys and ran away, until she hided in a church, where she taught how to sing to the people serving in the church.

    It's a choral piece, so it doesn't sound so powerful if you sing it alone, but I think the flow of this song is wonderful.

    As soon as I finished singing the last note, the princess suddenly raised the corners of her mouth.

    "Hmm, not bad. But this lad's high-pitch voice isn't that sweet."

    "Ugh, I'm sorry...."

    "Well, it seems you don't have a proper music teacher, so I'll forgive you for that..."

    I don't know, have I done something profane? The princess squinted her eyes and waved her fan.

    "The magic nerves are firmly entrenched. You must sing with that in mind... I'll teach you how, so you will be able to compensate for the high-pitches to some extent."

    "Ah, yes!"

    "Sing the song again."

    I was told and sang, and now I'm like, "Wow! My magic nerves make my voice sound better!"
    But it's more like my perception of all my muscles and nerves in my body are better now, even my throat".

    After the fifth time I had to re-sing it, the corner of her eye moved, and she looked very angry.
    Did I sing that bad?

    "Don't worry, it's not you."

    "Ha, ha... yes... Huh?"

    It's supposed that we're just me and the princess here, though.

    As I looked around, it had been a clear day with not a single cloud, but suddenly a dark cloud began to seep in.
    What's more, in only one part of the garden, in this secluded area to be precise.

    I wonder what's going on, and struggle to say something.
    As I'm anxious, the princess beckons me over.

    "Come on, kid. Are you interested in the heavenly realm? I would be willing to take you there, if you wish, of course..."

    The look on her eyes wasn't exactly amicable. Oh, my God, I'm scared!

    But isn't it disrespectful to not answer when she asks you to?

    I couldn't figure out what was going on, and as she started looking around, the garden plantings rustled and moved.
    And through the branches of the trees I saw a man with pointed ears and golden hair.

    "Dr. Romanoff!"

    What's going on? How long Dr. Romanoff has been there hiding in that tree?
    Question marks come and go from my mind.

    We were somewhere else just a second ago, didn't we?

    Dr. Romanoff jumped from the tree to the ground and kneeled, now he's in front of the princess.
    Her beautiful figure who always looks cool and gracious, now is too much like.. Yeah, it's scary.

    "Please forgive me for being so rude. I am your little poet's tutor, My Lady."

    " ...how?!"

    The princess frowned and turned her face toward me, questioning the truth with only one gaze.

    I nodded my head vigorously, and the princess looked at the professor again, while letting out a little "Hmmm".

    "... And what's that tutor doing here?"

    "My student was just told that the Divine Lady was going to take him up to the heavens, but as I think it is an important matter, I rudely decided to appear before you."

    "You've been sneaking around even before that, what is your purpose? You can't lie to this Lady!"

    "I swear to you, there is no such thing. Yesterday, my little student told me that he had received your grace's gift. However, at that moment, my little one looked a little uneasy. That is what was bothering me...."

    "Hmm, that is true, he looks worried."

    A fan fluttered in the air, and a wonderful aroma wafted around.

    The princess's stared directly into my eyes, but I could only look away.
    Somehow from my mind something came up, ' Because I can't say that the song she likes comes from the memories of my previous life! '

    How nice it would be if I could say it honestly, like that... But yeah, I can't say that.

    The professor also looked at me as if I was acting strange... I'm sure, he won't even believe me, probably would think I'm crazy.

    Since the situation was so uncomfortable, I flushed and started playing with the button of my blouse, until the fan, that was fluttering in the air, flashed in front of my eyes.

    "I see... That's an unnecessary concern for you, kid."

    "Huh...?"

    "The reason he was so nervous was because of the song this Lady was making him sing."

    "... The song the Divine Lady has been making him sing?"

    "Yes. This Lady likes to hear his otherworldly songs."

    "... Otherworldly, what is that?"

    As he pronounces those words, Dr. Romanoff's eyes opens wider and wider.

    Even though he is in front of a God, hearing 'otherworldly' is more amazing?

    As I watched the outcome, a fan was thrust at me with a bang, to stop just in front of my eyes.

    "This Lady likes his songs, dances and music. Those songs are the praises directed to Gods of other worlds, since he has talent, I want him to sing those to me instead. He lacks instruction, but has a nice voice. I don't have an official music teacher, but if he already sings like this, I'm sure my servants can teach him."

    "... Ah, Lady..."

    "But even the profane professor didn't know who this Lady is?"

    In contrast to the princess who giggled mischievously, Dr. Romanoff paled.

    "No, no! It was me, I'm the stupid kid who didn't learn enough!"

    My intervention wasn't even heard, it's a conversation for adults.

    "When we met, this child didn't know who I was and said it was his fault, that he didn't hear the adults around him as he should have... It's fine, I understand now. Since he lacks proper instruction, he thought that it would make me angry, if he tells others without my permission, about the otherworldly songs that are only for me to hear."

    As I looked at both of them, couldn't help but think that the true story changed unexpectedly... but to my convenience.
    Lucky me!
    However, I don't feel happy.
    My professor, I'm lying to him or cutting pieces of the true story, and also letting the princess carry the burden of the lie.
    What do I do now? I'm dying of guilt.

    "Don't you dare worry about anything else! I don't mind about it."

    "Ah... I'm sorry."

    "No, you don't have to apologize. I'm doing it for my own entertainment. Even so, this Lady won't be at peace until the insolent elf apologize!"

    Her thin face went up with a sensation of indescribable dignity.

    It seemed that Dr. Romanoff felt it, too, and quietly bowed down on the spot, apologizing for his mistakes.

    Then the princess pointed to him with her fan.

    "Elf, the otherworldly songs that this Lady requested, you will teach him how to sing them!"

    "Ahhh?? ... Oh, May I know why I'm selected for this task?"

    "If one of my servants teach him, there would be an uproar. Since you're an elf, you should be familiarized with the songs of the Gods' gold age. If it's me, who instruct him or any other celestial being... There's a limit to how much you'll be able to avoid being seen. If there's an elf instead, it won't be suspicious, an elf singing songs that no human has ever heard before, is nearly common."

    "Do you mean to say that you want my little student to improve his singing skills?"

    "Hmmm. Yes, exactly."

    When Dr. Romanoff nodded gravely, the dark cloud that had been standing over us lifted.

    As the glittering, early summer sunshine returned to the garden, the figure of Lady Baekka was no longer there.

    "... Oh! Thank you so much!"

    As I shouted my thanks to the princess, my body jumped as someone held my hand tightly.

    Dr. Romanoff squeezed my hand and squinted his eyes.

    "Shall we go back to the mansion?"

    "Yes."

    The feel of a warm, large hand is something I don't remember much about, but this sensation make me feel, like being safe again...
    My father in this world... If I hold his hand like this, would I feel the same?
    I didn't want to, but my vision started to be blurry.

    As I entered the mansion, holding hands with Dr. Romanoff, Miss Rottenmeier came to us with a furious look on her face.
    Two pieces of paper are clutched in her hand.


    "Oh my God, why?! Grrr. The Master and the Mistress are coming back."

     



    TRANSLATED BY http://novelsetromans.eklablog.com

    YOU CAN FIND MORE CHAPTERS  IN PATREON

     



    Previous Chapter   List of Chapters   Next Chapter
    Yahoo! Blogmarks

  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: